Asian peer support training and exchange (2020 and 2021)

With Hideta Nakamura (Japan), Garry Brough (UK) and Simon Collins (UK) and Community HIV advocates from across Asia

The 2020 zoom event will be on Dec 19th in English with limited simultaneous translation into some Asian languages

The HIV peer support information exchange and training project was initiated in January 2020 by Dr Hideta Nakamura, University of the Ryukyus, Japan and Ben Collins and Nia Dunbar, ReShape, International HIV Partnerships (IHP), with Garry Brough, Positively UK, and Simon Collins, i-Base and HIV service providers and peer supporters across Asia

Our original goal was to host a face-to-face HIV peer support information exchange and training in Japan this December 2020. With that intent we conducted a needs assessment in January and February 2020, which most of you completed. (Thank you.)

In total, we had approximately 60 responses from over 40 organisations in cities across Asia, including Bangkok, Beijing, Chiang Mai, Goa, Hong Kong, Islamabad, Kuala Lumpur, Manilla, Seoul, Shanghai, Singapore, Taichung, Taipei, and Tokyo.

Because of Covid-19 we have postponed the face-to-face meeting until 2021.

We will begin the exchange/training with a Zoom meeting on Saturday, 19 December at 09:00 London, 14:00 Islamabad, 16:00 Bangkok, 17:00 Beijing, Shanghai, Singapore and Taipei, 18:00 Seoul and Tokyo. Please save the date and time.

Intro from Garry Brough, Positively UK

Intro from Simon Collins, i-Base

Particpants introduction videos

Surveys were collected from

Malaysia, Philippines, Pakistan, Singapore,

Thailand, S. Korea, Japan, Taiwan, China, Hong Kong